Spicy Lovers Out There, Have You Tried Eating Palapa?

Palapa. Does this word sound weird or new to you? I got the same reaction too when I first heard of it. It’s weird because the term sounds like ‘dirt’ or something inedible. It’s new because it’s not a term that I use everyday. So whenever someone asked for Palapa it tickles my brain.

If you’re wondering where I heard the term, then I need your time to read more.

I was visiting my friend in her hometown in Binidayan, Lanao del Sur. I was awed by its beautiful lake, cold weather and delicious foods. My friend who is a Meranao by ethnicity is the one who introduced me this Palapa.

Is that something you use every day?

I asked my friend if that is something vital in their life. Why would everyone look for it? True enough that Palapa is part of their life, it is embedded in their tradition and written in their culture. You know that you’re in a Meranao’s home if you smell a strong aroma of chili and ginger and the grassy smell of ‘sibujing’ or a native scallions. It’s unusual for a Meranao home without seeing someone pounding sibujing in their kitchen.

I can always see this Palapa in their kitchen!

They eat it. Wow, is that really good? I tried it of course. And, I should admit, I was speechless. How could I speak when my mouth was scorched by the devil’s fiery pitchfork? I couldn’t bear the spiciness of Palapa. However, the appetizer was delicious. I can’t stop eating because, first, I need rice to end the spiciness of chili. And second, I liked the taste of the mixed native scallion, ginger, and chili. It complements a lot. I would say that of all the spicy condiments you found in the market, this is the best one ever. Sadly, they don’t commercially produce this one, that’s why fewer people know anything about it.

You should try this one too!

Palapa is not like the popular chilli oil, that every time someone mentions “chilli oil” everybody could picture out red-hot chilli pepper swimming in oil. So, as a compliment to the Meranao people who religiously cook Palapa I recommend this one to those spicy lovers out there.

Everybody hates hell-hot foods. I know because I was once like that. But when this food was introduced to me. I love anything that spells hot. Well, as long as it’s deliciously made.

Cheerio!

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment